Posted by: ithacaisdoomed | January 14, 2010

Gloats from the Winner’s Circle

Today I unveil a new Ithaca is Doomed feature that will appear from time to time:

GLOATS FROM THE WINNER'S CIRCLE

What is a “gloat from the winner’s circle?”  To gloat is defined thus by  Princeton University’s web dictionary : to dwell on with satisfaction; gaze at or think about something with great self-satisfaction, gratification, or joy
wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn

Gloat also happens to be one of my favorite words, along with the associated Germanic “schadenfreude.”  “Vlad’s Daily Gloat” was also one of my favorite columns in the most excellent Exiled, until Vlad disappeared.  I highly recommend going back in their archives and reading his gloats.

For my purposes, “Gloats from the Winner’s Circle” provides me an outlet:  You see, I’m really trying to be a better person in 2010 and too much gloating can lead to hubris, and one’s subsequent downfall.  However, I feel that if I share some of the things that cause me to gloat with you, dear reader, then I am somewhat more justified in my gloating.  “Milking the gloat,” so to speak.  A Gloat from the Winner’s Circle is anything that gives one a feeling of having “put one over on the Man.”  It’s about getting something for nothing, or nearly nothing save your own initiative.  A Gloat from the Winner’s Circle makes you feel like Clint Eastwood’s character in The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly might have felt when he was able to say “There are those with guns.  And there are those who dig” just as he and the Ugly had finally reached the buried gold.

Gloat #1

I cannot claim credit for Gloat From the Winner’s circle number 1.  My lovely and talented wife crafted this oh so warm, and oh so free blanket that keeps us nice and toasty in Upstate NY’s grim chill.  Over the course of a year, we patiently collected every piece of discarded wool clothing or blanket we found on the roadside or in the trash.  Once we’d gathered enough of the free woolen bounty, my wife carefully cut squares and sewed them together to form the heirloom quality union of beauty and practicality you see before you.  This blanket is so cool, it’s like something your ass kickin’ grandparents would have done back in the Great Depression, only back then, people probably weren’t throwing away perfectly good wool sweaters.  The creator of this masterpiece has offered one to our five year old son, but he’s so tough from having been born up here instead of down South that he doesn’t even want it. Kids these days!

This format is probably so 2009, but I’m going to do it anyway.

Price of materials:  Let’s say about $2.00  worth of thread and the electricity it took for the sewing machine.  (I know, it’d be really hardcore to do it on a treadle machine.)  All else was 100% free!

Price of labor:  Can you put a price on self-sufficiency? (I know, I’m not the one who did the serious work.)

Price of gloat:  Absolutely priceless. “You may find yourself, under a beautiful blanket, with a beautiful wife, in a beautiful house…And you may ask yourself, how did I get here?”

Responses

  1. Hey!

    Pride in accomplishment is not hubris… beuatiful work, Mrs Ithaca 🙂

    tp

  2. *beautiful* 😀

  3. Thanks, on behalf of Mrs. Ithaca!


Leave a Reply

Categories

